Dream Theater esce a febbraio il nuovo "Distance Over Time"

Redazione 22 dic 2018
Il 22 febbraio 2019 i Dream Theater pubblicheranno “Distance Over Time”, il loro atteso nuovo album di studio.

14esimo capitolo della loro carriera, “Distance Over Time” (InsideOutMusic/Sony Music)
è stato prodotto da John Petrucci. Mixing: Ben Grosse (Marilyn Manson, Disturbed, Depeche Mode, Alter Bridge). Mastering: Tom Baker (The Rolling Stones, David Bowie, The Who, Nazareth, Santana). Artwork: Hugh Syme (Rush, Iron Maiden, Stone Sour, Megadeth)

Dream Theater lineup – James LaBrie (Vocal), John Petrucci (Guitar), Jordan Rudess (Keyboard), John Myung (Bass), Mike Mangini (Drum)

Il tour partirà da San Diego (California) il 20 marzo 2019.
Dream Theater official website

"Mentre ascolto questo album rivivo il periodo in cui ci siamo ritrovati a comporre, quel che ci ha ispirato e tutto quello che sta dietro a ogni brano. Come produttore, il mio intento è stato quello di creare il miglior album dei Dream Theater di sempre, con gli accorgimenti migliori e con il sound migliore. Volevo che il risultato finale rispecchiasse lo spirito, la gioia e la passione che ognuno di noi ci ha messo. Penso che l'obiettivo sia stato raggiunto e spero che i fan la penseranno alla stessa maniera" – John Petrucci

In June 2018, Dream Theater secluded themselves ...
l'articolo continua  
in a private location in upstate New York to begin writing for the new record. While spending the summer living together in the property's adjacent residence, the band spent their days and nights crafting the music that would make up the new album in the ‘Yonderbarn’; a beautiful and spacious barn that had been meticulously transformed into a state-of-the art film and recording studio. Following an intense & extremely productive period of group writing sessions and wanting to retain the magic that was captured in this scenic and inspiring location, they decided to record the album in the very room they had all convened to write together in. Living together during the writing and recording for ‘Distance Over Time’ marked another first for the band’s 33-year career. The result is a heavier collection of songs that showcases the early roots of the band while exploring new territory as musicians and as friends.

“It was like going back to summer camp,” adds James LaBrie. “Being around each other the whole time made it that much more of a profound experience. I think the songs reflect the energy. It was a lot of fun to have a situation so powerful at this point in our career.”

Dream Theater is also planning to hit the road in support of the new album. The ‘Distance Over Time’ Tour of North America was recently announced and kicks off on March 20, 2019 in San Diego, CA. The tour will run for seven weeks before wrapping up in Mexico City on May 4, 2019.

Progressive metal pioneers Dream Theater— James LaBrie (Vocals), John Petrucci (Guitars), Jordan Rudess (Keyboards), John Myung (Bass), and Mike Mangini (Drums) — share a unique bond with one of the most passionate fan bases around the globe as evidenced by their two GRAMMY® Award nominations and 15 million records sold worldwide. The 1992 opus Images & Words received a gold certification and landed on Rolling Stone’s coveted “100 Greatest Metal Albums of All-Time.” Guitar World placed the follow-up Awake at #1 on “Superunknown: 50 Iconic Albums That Defined 1994.” 1996’s A Change of Seasons notably soundtracked NBC’s coverage of Downhill Skiing at the 2002 Winter Olympics. Fans voted the 1999 Metropolis Pt. 2: Scenes from a Memory the “Number One All-Time Progressive Rock Album” in a 2012 Rolling Stone poll. Not to mention, it ranked as the “15th Greatest Concept Album” by Classic Rock. 2009 saw Black Clouds & Silver Linings crash the Billboard Top 200 at #6 as A Dramatic Turn of Events [2011] and Dream Theater [2013] maintained a three-peat in the chart’s Top 10. Consequence of Sound dubbed 2016’s The Astonishing, “An absolutely unique experience.” Beyond three platinum and two gold videos, the group was inducted into the Long Island Music Hall of Fame in 2010. On its 14th full-length and first release for InsideOutMusic / Sony Music, Distance Over Time, the band recharge the brotherhood that has kept them creating music together for over 30 years. It’s Dream Theater at their most dynamic, direct, and definitive.

© 2016 Il Volo Srl Editore - All rights reserved - Reg. Trib. n. 115 del 22.02.1988 - P.Iva 01780160154